Bradley Chapman – An Entrepreneur’s Journey

3 06 2010

Hello everybody

Bradley Chapman – Am I a fool or should I keep going?

Do you know what, I just do not know. In fact and to be completely honest with you, I am completely lost at the moment in both my business and personal lives. My vision has come at such a great cost not only to me but my family, my children and it has affected the ones who love me and I am just not being fair to them all.

My health is suffering as a result of my drive to make a success of what I’m doing at Raw Business, my partner has been put through hell and my kids need me to be there for  them not dead to the world, exhausted and no energy at weekends – when is should be vibrant, alive and loving life..

On a good day I am one of the most highly motivated and inspirational people I know and on a bad day, my heart misses beats, my stomach sinks and my head just feels numb.  In terms of motivation just ask the 150 people who queued to see me recently at our recent trade show at London Excel – I blew them away! You only have to ask my parents or my loving partner Emma to realise just how destructive I can be when I’m not Mr Motivator.

I have worked tirelessly all of my adult life and it has been filled with highs and lows but turning 40 last week has made me realise that I have to change now if am to be success healthy, a good father and husband – so why am I not doing it you ask?

I am afraid, scared and a little jumbled up inside and I don’t know whether I need a good business coach, a therapist both or just simply need putting down. I know that I can work miracles but after the twists and turns in my life, I guess my tank is just empty – of course that is an excuse, truthfully I am scared.

So much has happened over the last few months so, where do i start. There just does not seem to be enough hours in the day to run the business, which at best is a beast, let alone communicate my raw open and honest thoughts to you all – which I said I would always do.

Do I talk about the challenges that like many of you, I have faced over the last 3 years in building a business network for entrepreneurs in the hope that you will not only be able to associate with me but also act to help bring positive change that will potentially increase business success rates in the UK or do I talk about happy clappy stuff that really does not help grass-roots business owners?

It has to be Raw open and honest and if it helps you then it helps me.
When I first thought about launching an entrepreneur network I came up with Million Impossible, which was my first attempt at creating a web site that would enable business owners and entrepreneurs not only to build their businesses through networking and building contacts but also and more importantly help you see the wider picture.

As many of you know, I secured investment in January 2010 from Simon Dolan, a successful businessman that has spent 20 years building a business from a tenner to a current and personal value of around £65 million pounds. Together we launched Raw Business in January 2010. The brand now combines our magazine, online networking website and face to face events.

So what is the wider picture – How do we embrace opportunity?

To me it is about looking at every call, every email that comes in and every person that you meet or are introduced to as an opportunity – YES OPPORTUNITY!

Too many of us dismiss very quickly these opportunities because we either do not have the time or quite simply we look at the skin and not what could be inside the opportunity, in other words we judge people or situations too quickly. Just because somebody is different does not mean that they do not have some to say or do that represents an opportunity to us.

Explore these opportunities as you never actually know what’s behind the door unless you open it. Open doors meet people and talk to them with absolutely no preconceived ideas of what the outcome might be and I guarantee that positive opportunities will emerge.

I have learned so much about people in the last few years and I know this – Everyone one of them has a nugget to offer, you just have to pan for it to find it. I am also string enough to admit that I am missing out on opportunities every day by not being the 100% that I can be – are you?

Being in business is so glamorous – Just look at the guys on Dragons Den

This is quite simply not true. Being is business is one of the hardest things to do successfully and that is why 80% fail within 5 years of startup. We all love to see and hear about success stories and I should know more than most. I have the great pleasure to interview very successful entrepreneurs such as Charlie Mullins, Caprice Bourret, Jacqueline Gold, Duncan Bannatyne, Rachel Elnaugh and fairly unknown entrepreneurs such as John Griffin who owns Addison Lee and he has a business worth £180 million pounds.

Unless you are prepared to roll up your sleeves, work night and day and at time with no pay, then forget going into business because it takes a number of key personal skills to be able to do it successfully.  I consider myself experienced in business across many sectors, and I still cannot get it right.

If you are going into business then before you do consider this – it may cost you everything including money, love and family and let’s not forget – your heart mind and soul!

If you can get it right, you have a strong business model and you can make solid profits, then you will lead a life of high-octane, fun-filled positively charged days. Before you start-up your business and perhaps fail double-check everything. Call me I’ll give my advice for free and if I cannot help then I am certain that I can find someone who can and remember that none of us know everything but together we do!

I have worked day and night tirelessly for the last 3 years, and I just do not seem to be at the place that I thought I would be right now.

So what do I need to adjust to bring positive change in my life?

Seek help is the first thing and by opening up to someone they might just be able to untangle the person who is Bradley Chapman.  Will I be strong enough to admit the things that I must change and will they will they be a strong enough person to deal with all the shit that I’ve experienced in my life and coach me to move forward? Mr Leeper, it’s about time so can you help this guy called Bradley Chapman to become the person he wants to be.

Follow me on Raw Business on my personal blog

Thank you all for reading my entry and I apologise it is not the normal me. We can’t be superstars all the time I guess.

Lots of love – Bradley Chapman
http://www.rawbusiness.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

